Advice for new laptop

Discuss everything about books, movies, games, and other art forms/media here.
Led Guardian

Advice for new laptop

#1 Post by Led Guardian » 16 Jun 2011 05:21

I'm considering getting a new laptop this year. I figure there are at least a couple gamers on here who could give me advice. I'd like something that can play modern games well, preferably on the highest settings, and I'd like it to last at least 4 years and still be able to play games well. I'm not a hardcore gamer, but I'd like the games I do play to run well. My budget is limited and more than $1500 is probably a deal killer (holy shit Alienware is expensive). I'm hoping that these 2 parameters are not mutually exclusive. 17"+ display is a must.

I do realize that a desktop would be better, but as a student, I need a laptop. So no misplaced if well-intentioned advice about getting a desktop. :)

If anyone has a suggestion, I would appreciate it if you included the specs.

Thanks! (I hope)
'Nowhere has this renunciation of man's transience been more joyous or uplifting than in the medium of airport carpets.'

Sleeping Dragon

Re: Advice for new laptop

#2 Post by Sleeping Dragon » 17 Jun 2011 01:10

thinkpad w500 with radeon mobility GL graphics card is what i had til it met a glass of lemonade.

it served me well using 3d graphics, autoCAD and photoshop professionally. it also managed to run Fallout New Vegas on Ultra Graphics setting, though i set it lower after a while for better performance.

it cost me about 1,300 US$ 2 years ago, i bet you can get one on Ebay for much less than that nowadays.
ᛁᚠ ᚣᚩᚢ ᚲᚪᚾ ᚱᛠᛞ ᚦᛁᛋ ᚣᚩᚢ ᚪᚱᛖ ᛏᚱ00!
*Will not be waking up before 2008*

Led Guardian

#3 Post by Led Guardian » 18 Jun 2011 07:34

I'm looking toward a Sager NP8170 right now. Crap battery life, but it ought to run things at the highest settings for another couple of years. I'm hoping that the new Intel processors will be cheaper by end of the year when I'll likely get a new laptop though.